function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
CarrieLeeCarrieLee 

Fields Required only after Closed Won stage selected

I created a section in the "Opportunity" tab called Order Book. I would like to require certain fields in this section to be *required only when we change the stage of the Opportunity to Closed Won. I'm not sure where to start with this......
Gemini@WorkGemini@Work
Have you looked at Validation rules in the online  "Help & Training" ?
CarrieLeeCarrieLee
I saw your post to someone else in regard to creating a Validation Rule, so I am going to read more about it. I'm not good at writing formulas so I may post back for help.
CarrieLeeCarrieLee
IF(ISPICKVAL (StageName, "ClosedWon"),
ISNULL(Radiology_Manager__c)

Error: Syntax error. Missing ')'

I hate that error!!

Any suggestions?
Gemini@WorkGemini@Work
I don't think you want to use an IF statement here.  I think, based on your past posts, what you're going after is something like this:

Code:
AND ( 
    ISPICKVAL( StageName, "Closed Won"), 
    ISNULL( Radiology_Manager__c )
)

CarrieLeeCarrieLee
That code works, thank you, I'm getting closer. The goal of this formula is to *require our reps to fill in the Radiology Manager's name when they close a sale (select Closed Won). So if they tried to close a sale by selecting Closed Won and then hitting "Save" they would receive an error that say's "Please complete the required fields in the Order Book section". The fields are only required at the Closed Won stage.

Any thoughts or ideas?
Gemini@WorkGemini@Work
So what's missing?  You've got the formula, and you know the error message that you want to display when the formula equates to true.  Did you try creating this as a Validation Rule under the Opportunity standard object?
CarrieLeeCarrieLee