function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Karthi_VeluKarthi_Velu 

System.debug('Log messgae'); and Trigger on Lead after update/insert

Hi,

I am New to salesForce. I had two issue.

1). using System.debug('Log messgae'); in trigger apex code, i can't the log in "System Log" link.

2). while using Trigger on Lead after update/insert i cant change the lead object value.

3). can you give any update example in apex or trigger(how to set the id).

example code:

trigger ChangeLeadCheckStatus on Lead (after insert, after update) {
       system.debug('test Karthig');
       if (true) {
            Lead[] newLead = Trigger.new;
            newLead[0].LastName = newLead[0].LastName + '_VB_';
       }

}

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Karthi_VeluKarthi_Velu
Error: Invalid Data.
Review all error messages below to correct your data.
Apex trigger ChangeLeadCheckStatus caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: ChangeLeadCheckStatus: execution of AfterUpdate caused by: System.Exception: Record is read-only: Trigger.ChangeLeadCheckStatus: line

All Answers

Karthi_VeluKarthi_Velu
Error: Invalid Data.
Review all error messages below to correct your data.
Apex trigger ChangeLeadCheckStatus caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: ChangeLeadCheckStatus: execution of AfterUpdate caused by: System.Exception: Record is read-only: Trigger.ChangeLeadCheckStatus: line
This was selected as the best answer
Karthi_VeluKarthi_Velu

Not Yet solved

Thnaks advance

JimRaeJimRae

Not sure about your system log issue.  But your other error is caused by the fact that you can't update a field on the object with an after trigger, you need to use a before trigger.  Also, you need to make your trigger bulk safe.  It should handle multiple records being processed in one step.