function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Walter@AdicioWalter@Adicio 

Need help with SOQL for Trigger on Case to grab info from User for case owner

I am new at sql and soql and need some help. I am trying to find out if a user record is marked out of office and if so add a backup user to their cases. I am having trouble with my query.

My Trigger

trigger myCaseTrigger on Case (before insert, before update) { Case[] cs = Trigger.new; caseChange.makeChange(cs); }

This is working for me as a test to change the case

public class caseChange { public static void makeChange(Case[] cs){ for (Case u : cs ) { if (u.Backup_User__c == null ) { u.Backup_User__c = u.OwnerId;} } } }

The next two are my attempt, but are not working

public class caseChange { public static void makeChange(Case[] cs){ for (Case u : cs ) { if (u.Owner__r.Out_Of_Office__c == 'true' ) { u.Backup_User__c = u.Owner__r.Backup_User__c;} } } }

public class caseChange { public static void makeChange(Case[] cs){ for (User u : cs ) { if (u.Out_Of_Office__c == 'true' ) { u.Cases__r.Backup_User__c = u.OwnerId;} } } }

Thank you for any advice or help.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
jpwagnerjpwagner

I'm not exactly sure what you're trying to do, but you cannot join objects without querying the data.

for example, this should work for your first example that is not working:

public class caseChange {
 public static void makeChange(Case[] cs){

Set<Id> ownerIds = new Set<Id>(); 

Map<Id,Id> map1 = new Map<Id,Id>();

Map<Id,Id> map2 = new Map<Id,Id>();

Map<Id,Id> map3 = new Map<Id,Id>();

for (Case c : cs) {
                  ownerIds.add(c.Owner__c);
                  map1.put(c.Id,c.Owner__c);
                }
  for(User u : [select Id, Out_Of_Office__c, Backup_User__c from User where Id in : ownerIds]){