function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
babrannobabranno 

ISCHANGED

I am pretty new to salesforce and I am struggling to create a validation rule.  I want to use the ISCHANGED function with a phone or fax number.  So if the phone or fax number is changed on an account then it triggers a field update on a custom object.  The workflow keeps telling me that I cannot use ISCHANGED with a phone or fax number.  Does anyone have a work around?  Thanks for the help.

Bladen

Steve :-/Steve :-/

ISCHANGED can only be used when the WFR is triggered "Every time the record is created or edited"

ISCHANGED

Description:Compares the value of a field to the previous value and returns TRUE if the values are different. If the values are the same, this function returns FALSE.
Use:ISCHANGED(field)and replace field with the name of the field you want to compare.
Validation Rule Example:The following validation rule prevents users from changing an opportunity name after it has been created:NOT(ISCHANGED(Name)).

NOT(AND(ISCHANGED(Priority), ISPICKVAL(Priority, “Low”)))is a validation rule that ensures if a user changes the Priority of a case, the new priority cannot be “Low.”

NOT(AND(ISCHANGED(CloseDate), ​OR(MONTH(CloseDate) <> MONTH(TODAY()), ​YEAR(CloseDate) <> YEAR(TODAY())),$Profile.Name <> "Sales Manager"))is a validation rule that prevents a user from changing the Close Date of an opportunity to a date outside of the current month and year unless that user has the “Sales Manager” profile.Note
$Profile merge fields are only available in Enterprise, Unlimited, and Developer Editions.
Tips:
  • This function is available only in:
    • Assignment rules
    • Validation rules
    • Field updates
    • Workflow rules if the trigger type is set to Every time a record is created or edited.