function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
charleskocharlesko 

Quick question about before/after update trigger

This is my first time writing a trigger with 'before update'. It simply doesn't get triggered. The test method returns success, but in real world, it's like the trigger isn't there at all.

This contact trigger is supposed to change a value of a custom field in case whenever it is updated and has EmailBouncedDate not null. The purpose of this trigger is to alert the case viewer that this contact's email address is invalid. The code I wrote is below.

I tried slipping in some other random things outside of the if statement just to see if the trigger runs at all, and it doesn't seem like it is.

Isn't a trigger supposed to run everytime any value in the sObject is changed?

trigger BouncedEmailHandler on Contact (before update) {

for (Contact updatedContact : trigger.new) {

if(updatedContact.EmailBouncedDate != null){
for (Case c : [SELECT Id, Need_Attention__c, Status, Invalid_Contact_Email__c FROM Case WHERE Case.contactId =: updatedContact.Id]) {

System.debug('Trigger executed');
//c.Status = 'Invalid Contact Email';
c.Need_Attention__c = true;
c.Invalid_Contact_Email__c = true; update c;

}
}

//test code - let's see if this is triggered at all
Contact[] cc = [SELECT Id, Phone FROM Contact WHERE Contact.Id =: updatedContact.Id LIMIT 1];
cc[0].phone = '111111111'; update cc;

}

}

Message Edited by charlesko on 11-04-2009 10:34 AM
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
aalbertaalbert

Yes, a trigger does execute when the object changed (in this case, a Contact is updated).

I recommend adding more System.debug messages in the trigger (output the EmailBounceDate, for example). 

My guess is the trigger is executing, but the logic and the data aren't aligned to execute as you expect. 

All Answers