function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DarbDarb 

Trigger - update record owner with new field falue

I am trying to write a trigger that will update the owner of a record with a value in one of the records fields.  I have never written a trigger before and this is what I have come up with so far.

trigger changeorderowner on Oracle_Order__c (before insert) { //Change the order owner before saving to the data base //Select the new orders where the current owner is not equal to the Owner as noted in the ERP system List<Oracle_User_Name__c> changeorderowner = [SELECT Oracle_User_Name__c From Oracle_Order__C WHERE Oracle_User_Name__c != Owner FOR UPDATE]; for (Oracle_User_Name__c li: changeower) { if (Oracle_User_Name__c != owner) { owner = Oracle_User_Name__c;} update Oracle_User_Name__c; }

Any help would be apprecaited  

David81David81

Do you want this trigger to go out and work on other records or just the record(s) that set off the trigger?

Your custom field, is it a picklist, lookup field or freeform text entry?

DarbDarb
I want it to go out and check any records that meet the criteria of record owner not equal to a custom field.  The custom field is a free form text field.  There is one caveat.  The records are imported from another system.  They will never be created in Salesforce. 
David81David81

Will they ever change after import? Or do you just want to set the correct owner upon import?

Are there some records already in the system that need correction or are you just worried abour records going forward?

Message Edited by David81 on 03-09-2010 05:36 AM
DarbDarb