function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
MiguelGuerreiroMiguelGuerreiro 

Error on Contact Trigger

Hello,

I'm really new to Apex so I request once more the community help! 

I've done this trigger below to prevent duplicete contacts (based on the email). Does anyone see a big flaw in it?

trigger PreventDuplicates on Contact (before insert, before update) { Contact[] contacts = [select Email,Id from Contact]; for(Contact c: Trigger.new) { for(Integer i = 0; i < contacts.size(); i++) { if(contacts[i].Email == c.Email) { c.Email.addError('Duplicated email address.'); } } } }

jkucerajkucera

It will blow up if you try to create 100 contacts and 100 exist as the loop will have more than the 10k allowed statements.

A more scalable way is to return a list of all contacts that have a matching email address via query vs loop.  There's definitely still more room to optimize this, but should work up to around 50 duplicates in a batch of 200 contacts:

trigger PreventDuplicates on Contact (before insert, before update) { String emailAddresses=" "; for(Contact c: Trigger.new) { emailaddresses=c.Email +","; }//for

Contact[] dupes=[select id, email from contact where email=:emailaddresses LIMIT 1000];

for(Contact c: Trigger.new){

for (Contacte dupe:dupes){

if (c.email=dupe.email){

c.email.adderror('Duplicate email address.');

}

//throw an error for contacts where email address matches

}

}

:

Could you please explain:

jkucera wrote:

It will blow up if you try to create 100 contacts and 100 exist as the loop will have more than the 10k allowed statements.

jkucerajkucera

http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/apexcode/Content/apex_gov_limits.htm