function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BshardiBshardi 

How to Sum Fields using Apex in Visualforce Email Template

I'm still new to visualforce and apex but I'm trying to figure out how to calculate the sum of fields in an visualforce email template.

I am making a receipt that can be emailed and I want to sum the total of payments made. I'm using an app called pervasive integrated credit card processor. The payments object's parent is Accounts. The visual force template is under Opportunities. 

It would be nice if I could do a simple roll-up summary field on the opportunity to sum the payments and then pull the amount but since payments is a child of accounts it does not allow me to do this. 

So, saying all that I just need to sum the payments where the opportunity ID is the ID of the current opportunity being used. 

How would I code this? Is there an easier way?

jkucerajkucera

Sounds like you want an RSF of Account Payments to shown on the template.  If you can't use an RSF on Account, you'll have to fake it w/ triggers on Payment:

• Create custom field on Account: Total_Payments__c
  • Create insert trigger on payment: Total_Payments__c+=This Payment
  • Create an Update trigger on payment: Total_Payments__c+=trigger.new - trigger.old
  • Create a before delete trigger on payment: Total_Payments__c-=This payment
BshardiBshardi

John,