function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
LStraubLStraub 

Help creating a test method for my Trigger

I needed a way to count the number of Contacts on an Account that have ScarbBooklet check box marked. I could not use a Roll-up summary but I did find some Apex code that I modified and it works in my Sandbox.

However I am not a developer and dont know how to right code at all, so I have been looking at sample test classes but I can not find one I can decypher enough to modify to as a test for my particular trigger.  

I was wondering if any of you devs have a few minutes to look at my trigger and point me to a bit of test code that would be very obvious that i could modify?   Thanks in advance for any help!  --Laura

/* Provide summary of Number of Scarb Booklet Contacts on Account record */ trigger ContactSumTrigger on Contact (after delete, after insert, after undelete, after update) { Contact[] cons; if (Trigger.isDelete) cons = Trigger.old; else cons = Trigger.new; // get list of accounts Set<ID> acctIds = new Set<ID>(); for (Contact con : cons) { acctIds.add(con.AccountId); } Map<ID, Contact> contactsForAccounts = new Map<ID, Contact>([select Id,AccountId from Contact where AccountId in :acctIds and Scarborough_Booklet__c=True]); Map<ID, Account> acctsToUpdate = new Map<ID, Account>([select Id,Num_of_Scarb_Booklet_Contacts__c from Account where Id in :acctIds]); for (Account acct : acctsToUpdate.values()) { Set<ID> conIds = new Set<ID>(); for (Contact con : contactsForAccounts.values()) { if (con.AccountId == acct.Id) conIds.add(con.Id); } if (acct.Num_of_Scarb_Booklet_Contacts__c != conIds.size()) acct.Num_of_Scarb_Booklet_Contacts__c = conIds.size(); } update acctsToUpdate.values(); }

MiddhaMiddha

Hi Laura,

Test Coverage: