function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DFDF 

Apex Trigger - Task(log a call) updating Lead status

I'm kinda new to apex, and im fairly stranded. Trying to basically create a trigger that on the completion of a log a call task, reads a particular field, and updates status based on it. More specifically, I'm not sure if what i want to do is possible.

To update  the lead shouldn't be too difficult. I would just run a SOQL on the lead Id and update the status field. I do this all day long from the API. The problem I'm really having is how to get information out of the current task. That is, how do i know what lead and what the contents of the tasks field are. 

Any help or direction would be much appreciated!

thecrmninjathecrmninja

This should work, I've included the test class.  I rewrote something I did for updating accounts based on related tasks so you may need to tweak it before it compiles.