function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KirstyFranceKirstyFrance 

Trigger functions on standard but not on custom object

I am not a programmer but have been learning to write some basic triggers to improve our Salesforce implementation. I have been obliged to replace the standard Asset object with a custom object that is a child object to accounts. A trigger written for the standard object has been recreated for the custom object. It worked perfectly on the standard object but does not on the custom.

The trigger is to set the Currency Iso Code of the object based on that of the related account. Does anyone know if there would be slightly different syntax for a custom object trigger? In the below I replaced Asset with the name of the custom object. Everything else is the same.

trigger SetPricePlanCurrency on Price_Plan__c (before update) { for (Price_Plan__c a : Trigger.new) { if(a.Set_Billing_Currency__c== 'EUR'){a.CurrencyIsoCode = 'EUR' ;} if(a.Set_Billing_Currency__c== 'CAD'){a.CurrencyIsoCode = 'CAD' ;} if(a.Set_Billing_Currency__c== 'CHF'){a.CurrencyIsoCode = 'CHF' ;} if(a.Set_Billing_Currency__c== 'DKK'){a.CurrencyIsoCode = 'DKK' ;} if(a.Set_Billing_Currency__c== 'GBR'){a.CurrencyIsoCode = 'GBP' ;} if(a.Set_Billing_Currency__c== 'NOK'){a.CurrencyIsoCode = 'NOK' ;} if(a.Set_Billing_Currency__c== 'SEK'){a.CurrencyIsoCode = 'SEK' ;} if(a.Set_Billing_Currency__c== 'USD'){a.CurrencyIsoCode = 'USD' ;} } }

dmchengdmcheng

No, there are no differences in syntax.  I don't have an answer for you, but I'm wondering if you can't simply your code.  It seems like you want the CurrencyISOCode to be the exact same value as the Billing Currency, so you could do this:

trigger SetPricePlanCurrency on Price_Plan__c (before update) { for (Price_Plan__c a : Trigger.new) { a.CurrencyIsoCode = a.Set_Billing_Currency__c; } }