function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
msimondsmsimonds 

Need help with testing for a trigger

ALL,

I am not new to developing on Salesforce using the API and PHP, but  I am new to APEX so please bare with me.

I wrote this simple trigger that deletes records on a custom object when another custom object record is deleted.

trigger CleanOppTrackerLineItem on Opportunity_Trackers__c (before delete) { for (Integer i = 0; i < Trigger.old.size(); i++) { try { //Get all the line items to delete when the parent is removed Opportunity_Tracker_Products__c[] oTRs = [select id from Opportunity_Tracker_Products__c where Opportunity_Tracker__c = :trigger.old[i].id]; delete oTRs; } catch (System.QueryException ex) { //Do Nothing - There must not have been any to delete. } } }

I was trying to go over some of the examples so I can test this and I am kind of lost. 

Do I need to write a custom APEX class to test this trigger because I need to get it into production as fast as possible.

We have run some tests in our sandbox on the trigger and it works perfectly.

Can someone please help me with what is the simplest way to create a test case and get it tested for this very simple trigger

I would appreciate it

~Mike

DFDF

The response I wish I had gotten a couple of weeks ago when I was facing the same issue....

A test case is basically an apex class that executes a series of code, that in effect "simulates" what would happen in salesforce. The object of these simulations is to ensure that every line of your code(test coverage = 100%) gets hit in each of these cases. 

So as an example. Lets say your were testing a trigger for a task..you would want your test class do something like

public class testtasktolead{

static testMethod void testTtoL() {