function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Donny.ax1663Donny.ax1663 

If Then Formula Troubles.

Hello,

I am fairly new to the SF game and this is my first post. I can't seem to grasp if/then formulas.  I am reaching out to all of you in hopes I can get squared away.

I am trying to estabilish a formula to look at a custom payment object field called "sku shipped"  then depending on what is entered it will populate another field with a number.

This is what I am trying to do, and I hope this makes sense.

If  Sku_Shipped_1__c  = "1:GREENC" then  Weight_1__c  = "2"

"Sku_Shipped_1_c" is a field that is populated from orders

"Weight_1_c" is the custom field I want populated with the number.

"2" is the weight

Basically, what I am trying to acheive is this, when a customer orders product the "sku shipped" field is auto populated from the website or a phone rep, but I want that to then reflect the number "2" in my weight column.

Any help is appreicated. 

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Shannon HaleShannon Hale

Sure thing.

I had thought the weight was the number, but if it's the count, and the actual weight is 2oz * count, we'll need to make a small change and multiply by two:

IF (
  ISNUMBER( LEFT( Sku_Shipped_1__c, 2 ) ),  /* Line 1 */
  VALUE( LEFT( Sku_Shipped_1__c, 2 ) ) * 2, /* Line 2 */
  VALUE( LEFT( Sku_Shipped_1__c, 1 ) ) * 2  /* Line 3 */
)

Line 1 is the condition you're checking in the IF() function:

LEFT( Sku_Shipped_1__c, 2) gets the first two characters of Sku_Shipped_1__c.

ISNUMBER( LEFT( Sku_Shipped_1__c, 2) ) checks whether those two characters are numeric. If they are, then the string starts with a 2 digit number. If not, the string starts with a 1 digit number.

Line 2 is the value to return if the condition is true (string starts with a 2 digit number):