function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
bkradminbkradmin 

Problem with Syntax

Hi, I am very new to formulas and SF and can't seem to get SF syntac right. I keep getting errors on this formula. I would really appreciate some help! 

If ((RecordType.Id), ("012E0000000MoYF") || ( RecordType.Id), ("012E0000000Mu8O") || ( RecordType.Id), ("012E0000000MoYN") || ( RecordType.Id), ("012E0000000MoYQ")),
( IF(ISPICKVAL(npe01__PreferredPhone__c, "Home"), HomePhone,
IF(ISPICKVAL(npe01__PreferredPhone__c, "Other"), OtherPhone,
IF(ISPICKVAL(npe01__PreferredPhone__c, "Work"), npe01__WorkPhone__c,
IF(ISPICKVAL(npe01__PreferredPhone__c, "Mobile"), MobilePhone, Account.Phone
),
( IF(ISPICKVAL(npe01__PreferredPhone__c, "Home"), HomePhone,
IF(ISPICKVAL(npe01__PreferredPhone__c, "Other"), OtherPhone,
IF(ISPICKVAL(npe01__PreferredPhone__c, "Work"), npe01__WorkPhone__c,
IF(ISPICKVAL(npe01__PreferredPhone__c, "Mobile"), MobilePhone, Employer_Number__c
)

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Shannon HaleShannon Hale

Let me see if I can restate the requirements:

1. If "Preferred Phone" is Home, Other, Work or Mobile, then return Home Phone, Other Phone, Work Phone or Mobile Phone, respectively.
  2. If it's anything else, then depending on what record type the record is, return Account.Phone or Employer_Number__c.

If this is correct, I think you can simplify this quite a bit like this:

CASE(
  npe01__PreferredPhone__c,
  "Home", HomePhone,
  "Other", OtherPhone,
  "Work", npe01__WorkPhone__c,
  "Mobile", MobilePhone,
  IF(
    (RecordTypeId = "012E0000000MoYF" || RecordTypeId = "012E0000000Mu8O" || RecordTypeId = "012E0000000MoYN" || RecordTypeId = "012E0000000MoYQ"),
    Account.Phone,
    Employer_Number__c
  )
)

How it works:

1. Check the value of the npe01__PreferredPhone__c.