function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
forrest138forrest138 

account sharing using apex

i am a salesforce admin brand new to development, and i want to programatically share accounts using apex.  What i am trying to accomplish is automatically share parent accounts with the child account owner, as my org has a private sharing model and right now i have to share each one manually as needed.  if anyone can help me out with some sample code to get started, i will be very greatful.
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
JonSimmonsJonSimmons

Here is a trigger that will create new AccountShare objects when a contact is inserted or updated.  It's quick and dirty but will get the job done in a limited set of circumstances.

There is one problem,  if you attempt to insert a duplicate AccountShare the insert will fail with an obscure error.  This sample code should get you started, hopefully you can figure out a way around this one issue.

trigger AccountShareOnNewContact on Contact (after insert, after update)
{

//loop through each contact record, capturing the ownerid and accountid associated with it
// for each one, create a new AccountShare record specifying the accountid and the contactid to provide access to, as well as the access level
// we will compile all of the new AccountShare objects into a single List and insert them all into Salesforce at one time

//problem, if an AccountShare already exists this trigger will fail with an INSUFICIENT_ACCESS_ON_CROSS_REFERENCE_ENTITY error
// you could query to verify that an account share doesn't already exist but that won't fly on bulk inserts/updates and it
// also doesn't account for groups that inherently have access

//create a container to hold all of the new AccountShares
List<AccountShare> newAccountShares = new List<AccountShare>();