function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Eager-2-LearnEager-2-Learn 

Trying to get a confirmation box before and after executing a custome clone process

Hello again,

I appreciate everyone's help.  I am new to all this stuff, Apex, OOP, Java, and HTML.

I have created a custom clone process that clones the opportunity and related partner records.  I would like to have a confirmation box (Are you sure?) and if the user clicks yes then create the clone otherwise stay at the original Opportunity page.  If they click Yes, then run my custom class/method that clones and finally pop up an ok box that just lets them know the clone was successful.  When they click 'Ok' then they should see the cloned opportunity.

Right now they click my custom button and then the current opp gets cloned and they see the new cloned opportunity.

Here is my the code that my custom button calls

<apex:page standardController="Opportunity"
     extensions="OppCloneWithPartnerRecsController"
     action="{!oppCloneWithPartners}">
     <apex:pageMessages />
</apex:page>

I see examples using the java script confirmCancel method but it is not clear to me where I would move the action=oppCloneWithPartners piece???

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

Yes, I think you should be directing the user to the VF page and passing the opportunity id that you are going to clone.

Something like:

var loc="/MyVfPage?id={!Opportunity.Id}";
window.parent.location.href = loc;

All Answers

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

I think you should be able to do this by using a custom button that executes javascript and only directs to the clone page when the user clicks 'Yes'.