function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
StefanStefan 

Apex Trigger to check picklist field and Record Type

I'm complete beginner to Apex code and would appreciate some help.

I would like to refine the below code to:

1. Trigger only whenPicklist field Contact.Status__c changes from 'Active' to 'Inactive'
  2. Change record type from Active to Inactive

trigger InactiveContact on Contact (before insert, before update) { private Contact[] newContact = Trigger.new; newContact[0].Original_Account__c = newContact[0].Accountid; newContact[0].Original_Owner__c = newContact[0].OwnerId; newContact[0].Original_Country_ID__c = newContact[0].Country__c; }

Also is there anywhere I can find examples of apex triggers.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

Here you go:

// full version

Id inactiveAccountId;

List<Account> inactiveList=[select id, Name from Account where name ='INACTIVE CONTACTS'];

if (!inactiveList.isEmpty())

{

inactiveAccountId=inactiveList[0].id;

}

// or this can be reduced to

Id inactiveAccountId=[select id, Name from Account where name ='INACTIVE CONTACTS'][0].id;

Message Edited by bob_buzzard on 01-21-2010 12:16 PM

All Answers

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

Your trigger will fire in all cases - that's the idea of triggers. 

You can't pick up changes to fields on insert - there was no old version to compare against.

Record types are stored in a different table, so you'll need to look up the id of the type that you want to set.

Then you'll need to iterate trigger.old and trigger.new in order and check the value of the Status__c field.  If it has changed in the way that you are looking for, set the recordtypeid field to the id of the type you captured earlier.

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard