function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
MurrayHMurrayH 

SOQL Governor LImits

I am having problems with the governor limits on SOQL queries.  I am trying to populate a list.  I tried the "For" procedure as outlined in the Apex Documentation, but I couldn't get it to work.  I also tried to break the query into three parts and then add the parts to the list, and that didn't work either.  I am new to this, so any comments would be really appreciated.

trigger ClassList1 on Program_Schedule__c (after insert, after update) {

//create a variable to hold the records to insert into the Class Members Object

List<Class_Member__c> AddClassMembers = New List<Class_Member__c>();

//Get a list of approved clients for all programs

// using addall to list methodology

//List<Program_Interest__c> ApprovedClients = New List<Program_Interest__C>();
//ApprovedClients.addall ([Select Client__c, Already_Enrolled__c, Program_of_Interest__c from Program_Interest__c where Name < 'G' and Next_Session__c = true AND Already_Enrolled__c = False]);
//ApprovedClients.addall ([Select Client__c, Already_Enrolled__c, Program_of_Interest__c from Program_Interest__c where Name >= 'H' and Name < 'I' and Next_Session__c = true AND Already_Enrolled__c = False]);
//ApprovedClients.addall ([Select Client__c, Already_Enrolled__c, Program_of_Interest__c from Program_Interest__c where Name >= 'T' and Next_Session__c = true AND Already_Enrolled__c = False]);

//Using the For methodology
For(List<Program_Interest__c> ApprovedClients : [Select Client__c, Already_Enrolled__c, Program_of_Interest__c from Program_Interest__c where Next_Session__c = true AND Already_Enrolled__c = False])
{
//Get existing class lists for duplicate checking
List<Class_Member__c> ExistingClassMembers = New List<Class_Member__C>([Select Program_Schedule__C from Class_Member__C]);