function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
dmchengdmcheng 

Using web services for data import?

Hello.  I'm fairly new to the web services aspects of force.com.  I have a client with a PHP/MySQL e-commerce system.  He wants to push new customer info and new transactions in an XML file to Salesforce on a regular basis.

I thought the solution would be to create a web service that exposes a Dom.Document variable for the XML data.  However, I get an IDE error "can not have a WebService scope because its type is not valid."

I presume then the only way to do this is to define an object in the webservice and send my client the WSDL.  Instead of submitting an XML file, he'll have to  submit the data as the webservice object.

Am I on the right track with that?

Thanks

David

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
sfdcfoxsfdcfox

If you can, have them use the Enterprise.wsdl available in Setup > App Setup > Develop > API. As long as they can use the create() call to insert some objects, you can write triggers to manipulate the data as it is inserted. If that's too much to ask of the client, you can move the processing into Salesforce; give them the WSDL for the method, and have them use file_get_contents to read the file into a string, and pass the XML verbatim into the web service method. Once the string is received, you can use Apex Code's native XML reader to parse the file and perform whatever actions you need to.

All Answers

SuperfellSuperfell

If they're going to call a web service, they could just call the standard web services to insert data, no need for you to write your own, unless you want to do some intermin manipulation of the data they are sending.

dmchengdmcheng

Thanks for the reply Simon.  Yes I need to do some manipulation before the data is inserted.

sfdcfoxsfdcfox