function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
sylar2sylar2 

need urgent help on my first apex trigger

I'm new to apex and i have somehow managed to create a trigger in sandbox. It works fine.

The only issue is when i try to inbound change to production. Trigger deployment fails and covers only 0% of code.

I know the reason is i haven't created any test class for the trigger.

I don't know how to create one.

Please help.

following is my trigger.

trigger changeowner on Case (before insert,before update) {
    for(Case c : Trigger.new) {
        if (c.Status == 'Closed to Case Owner' ) {
            String createId = c.CreatedById;
            c.OwnerId = createId.subString(0, 15);
        }
    }
}

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
hwelchhwelch

You should go through the Apex Developer's Guide but for now your answer is below.  Remeber to create an apex class using the "Test Class" template.  Also you can optimize your trigger by removing "String createId = c.CreatedById; c.OwnerId = createId.subString(0, 15);" with "c.OwnerId = c.CreatedById".

@isTest
private class changeownertest {

static testMethod void myUnitTest() {
        Case c = new Case();
        c.status = 'Closed to Case Owner';
        c.Origin = 'Phone';

// make sure your assign any other required fields
        insert c;
        System.assertNotEquals(c.id, null);
    }
}

All Answers

hwelchhwelch

You should go through the Apex Developer's Guide but for now your answer is below.  Remeber to create an apex class using the "Test Class" template.  Also you can optimize your trigger by removing "String createId = c.CreatedById; c.OwnerId = createId.subString(0, 15);" with "c.OwnerId = c.CreatedById".

@isTest
private class changeownertest {

static testMethod void myUnitTest() {
        Case c = new Case();