function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
elghoul_girlelghoul_girl 

Help Please URGENT: StandardSetController Vs. StandardController

Hello Everybody,

I am new to Apex and really need your help. I am doing now an extension to a standard controller and I am lost. when should I use "StandardSetController" and when do I use "StandardController"? this is my first question.

I am also trying to create a VF listing page for Accounts. and I have three record types and I want to get the list for each record type and bind it to a seperate pageblock. How cann I do it please?

Thanks......

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

Ah - missed the obvious.

These lines:

for(RecordType rt: rtypes)  
      PriorityRecordTypes.put(rt.Name,rt.Id);

are at the class level which isn't allowed - presumably these should be inside a method? 

All Answers

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

The quick answer is that you'd use the standard controller for a single instance and the standard set controller for a list of objects.  

I'd also suggest you take a look at the VisualForce Developer's Guide at:

http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/pages/index_Left.htm#CSHID=Template%2FSplash.htm|StartTopic=Content%2FTemplate%2FSplash.htm|SkinName=webhelp

as this will give you chapter and verse of all things VF.

WRT your second question, there are a variety of ways to do this, but one way is to have a separate getter on the controller for each record type that retrieves the information via a SOQL select and use the resulting list of accounts to back a pageblocktable.  Again, if you have a look at the developer's guide this should help.

elghoul_girlelghoul_girl

Hello,

Thank you for your reply.. I have problem with the for loop. it is not working : I got the following error: