function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
chrismartchrismart 

Whats wrong with this simple Apex Trigger?

Hi,

I am relatively new to Apex, and have tried but it appears not very well to create a simple trigger. I simply have 2 custom contact fields (one plain text and one a Lookup field). If the plain text matches a string of text I just need to populate the lookup field with a corresponding ID of a custom object. I have tried all sorts using code samples from the boards, etc. but simply this is what I am trying to achieve:

trigger myTrigger on Contact (after insert, after update){
if(Contact.Affiliate__c = '123')
Contact.Affiliate_Source__c = 'a0BQ0000003TAAo';
}

I will update contacts using Lead conversion and also mass import using the Apex data loader, so I presume any solution will work on each contact upsert.

I know there are more complex functions that include looking up the ID, etc. but I am just trying to get this working in it's most basic form - and would appreciate any help. I am sure it's really simple :)

MickleMickle

You shouldn't need the dotnotation of Contact.Afiilicate__c, since you are already in the realm of the Contact object. Dotnotation is used to traverse relationships. 

Secondly, to test if two things are equal you want to use  == intead of just =

Third, when the if statement extends more than one line, you need to tell it what's included with { }:

Try the following code, it should work.

if(Affiliate__c == '123'){
	Affiliate_Source__c = 'a0BQ0000003TAAo';
	}
}

chrismartchrismart

Hi,

I really appreciate you taking the time to reply...

I have tried the suggested code, but get the error:

Error: Compile Error: Variable does not exist: Affiliate_Source__c at line 3 column 5

Affiliate_Source__c is a lookup field for the Affiliate custom object that I am trying to associate the contact with.