function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SamarthyaSamarthya 

apex:inputText - Fetch the text entered

I have defined a component that gets the values of indvidual text elements when <apex:commandButton> is pressed, but when I try to call some function using AJAX and use this object, it never gets filled (Still ooking for reasons..).

Only way left for me is to get these values individually create a new object with these values and use it in the function called for AJAX using apex:actionFunction + apex:param.

can anyone tell me how to get data from inputText and pass it, or best if someone can help me out how to pass an object with these values.

I am still quite new to topic but am learning every day.

- Samarthya

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

If you are using an ActionFunction component, the inputfield value should be submitted back to the controller prior to the associated action method being invoked.

If you post your code you might get some further insight.

SamarthyaSamarthya

I am not using action function component. (if i understood correctly)

<apex:actionFunction id="callAFWS" immediate="true" name="callAFWS" action="{!callWSAJAX}" reRender="dataRecvd" status="statusWS">                                                                                 
                    </apex:actionFunction>

This is what the action function does simply call a controller function.

<apex:outputPanel id="testAjax" onclick="callWS()" styleClass="btn"> Get Candidates 
</apex:outputPanel>
<apex:outputpanel id="dataRecvd">
<apex:actionStatus id="statusWS">
<apex:facet name="stop">Text {!strData} </apex:facet>                            
</apex:actionStatus>
</apex:outputpanel>

The above is the call where I make a java script call that calls the actionFunction.

And I have a simple class address with few properties.