function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
CaitlinGMCaitlinGM 

trigger to update contact field based on opportunity stage

Hi, 

I'm new to Apex, and want to create what I think is a pretty simple cross-object field update trigger. 

An Opportunity has an Instructor Name lookup to a Contact record. When I change the opportunity record to Active, I want a custom field to update the instructor employment status to Employed on the Contact record. Likewise, when Opportunity stage moves to Ended, I want Contact status to go to Available. 

Any ideas on how I can accomplish this? Thanks very much for your input. 

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Ritesh AswaneyRitesh Aswaney

Which one would win would be down to you - as it would prolly need to be defined in the business logic in the trigger.

You could potentially have a  custom counter field on Contact - Active_Count__c. The triggers below could increment or decrement the counter depending on the transition of status.

Trigger on Opportunity

- If Active, Increment Active_Count__c. If Increment_Active_Count__c is now 1, Set to Employed

- If Inactive, Decrement Active Count. If Active Count = 0, set to Available

Trigger on MTT

- If Active, Increment Active_Count__c. Set to Employed if Active_Count__c is now 1

All Answers

Hey,

Since you're looking to accomplish a cross-object workflow-type update between two Standard objects, there is a nifty app on the App Exchange - http://appexchange.salesforce.com/listingDetail?listingId=a0N300000023bFjEAI (Aspira XObject). Its free to install for cross object updates between standard salesforce objects, recommend that you give it a whirl.

There's always Apex - you're right in thinking its a fairly simple trigger - here goes :

trigger OpportunityAfterTrigger on Opportunity (after update)

{