function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Dchris222Dchris222 

Creating a test class for an Apex Class

I developed an apex class that I need to test but don't understand how to develop a test class for it. The class creates two lists: all Opportunities and the Opportunity Feed with comments. I then evaluate each list and assign a value to the Activity Status based on date fields in each list.

I want to test the apex class to see if it works so I am assuming I need to create a test class. I have read the limited documentation, but still don't understand where to go from here. Help would be appreciated as I am very new at this.

Here is my Apex class:

public class OppPoliceController {

public void Opportunity() {

List<Opportunity> Opptys2 = [SELECT Opportunity_Number__c, LastActivityDate, Activity_Status__c FROM Opportunity ORDER BY LastActivityDate];	
     List<OpportunityFeed> Opptys = [SELECT id, (SELECT CreatedById, CreatedDate FROM FeedComments ORDER BY CreatedDate DESC) FROM OpportunityFeed];

for(OpportunityFeed o : Opptys) { 
       	 for(Opportunity Op : Opptys2){

if(system.now() > Op.LastActivityDate.addDays(14) || system.now() > o.CreatedDate.addDays(14)) {

string strStatus = 'High';
               Opportunity Opp = New Opportunity(Activity_Status__c = strStatus);
               Opptys2.add(Opp);

}

else if(system.now() >= Op.LastActivityDate.addDays(7) || system.now() < Op.LastActivityDate.addDays(14) 
                     || system.now() >= o.CreatedDate.addDays(7) && system.now() < o.CreatedDate.addDays(14)) {

string strStatus = 'Medium';
               Opptys2.add(Opp);

}

else if(system.now() < Op.LastActivityDate.addDays(7) || system.now() < o.CreatedDate.addDays(7)) {

string strStatus = 'Low';
                Opptys2.add(Opp);

}
            else {

string strStatus = 'Error';