function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
stollmeyerastollmeyera 

How to populate custom Lookup field in trigger

I am new to the apex scene and with the help of another developerforce.com community member I was able to create a simple trigger. The trigger acts as such: upon an Account being marked as Type 'Customer', create a new custom object called Conversion and map over the appropriate fields.  Code below

trigger AddConversionUponAccountCustomer on Account (after insert, after update) {
    Conversions__c[] cList = new Conversions__c[]{};
    for(Account a : trigger.new)
    {
        if(a.Type == 'Customer')
        cList.add(new Conversions__c (Name = a.name, phone__c = a.Phone, email__c = a.Email__c));
        }
        insert cList;
}

The trigger works great, but I need to be able to grab the Account that the Conversions record was created off of and attach it.  I created a new lookup field called Account__c under my Conversions custom object, but I am having trouble integrating this into my trigger so that when the Account is marked 'Customer', a new Conversions record is created, with all of the appropriate fields mapped over, AND THE ACCOUNT IS ATTACHED IN THIS FIELD.  Can somone please offer me some advice on how I can incorporate a lookup field into the above? (Did I mention I am new :p)

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
BritishBoyinDCBritishBoyinDC

You should be able to just do something like this I think - a lookup field needs an Id so set Account__c equal to the Id of the account being processed by the trigger:

cList.add(new Conversions__c (Name = a.name, Account__c = a.Id, phone__c = a.Phone, email__c = a.Email__c));

All Answers

BritishBoyinDCBritishBoyinDC