function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mollydogmollydog 

Apex Trigger To Update A Custom Field

Hello I am new to Apex / Trigger and would like to use it to update one field from another on a custom object. I know this can be done via workflow but would like to try this with  a trigger so I can start to understand more about Apex. I am in the mids of reading about apex etc but would be grateful if someone could give me a few examples.

What I am trying to achieve:

Object name = Test object

Field 1 = A

Field 2 = B

All I want to do is make "field A" update with "field B" value after update.

Thank you

Jake GmerekJake Gmerek
Trigger updateFields on Test_Object__c (before update){
  for (Test_Object__c obj: trigger.new){
    field_1__c = field_2__c;
  }
}

That should do the trick, you want to do this on a before update trigger to avoid an infinite loop which the system will not allow.  All this does is when an update is called, but before the database is actually updated, we cycle through each object updated and make field 1 = field 2.  Then the object(s) are updated and the value(s) that we want are stored in the database.

Hope this helps you out.

mollydogmollydog

Hello Jake, Thank you very much for your fast reply. This has made it very clear and I have tested in my sandbox and all's good. I have also been trying to get the below to work which is like before but acorss to objects.

I have two custom objects (Object 1 & Object 2) when object 1 is edited in anyway, I want  field 1 to be updated with field 2 on object 2.

Any help on this woudl be very much appreciated and once again thank you for your help.

Cheers

Jake GmerekJake Gmerek