function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mdavis.ax765mdavis.ax765 

Apex Newb - Creating a child record when an Opportunity goes to Closed Won

Summary: When an Opportunity goes to the Stage Closed Won, I am trying to create a record in a child object. This child object is new, so I have latitude to make changes to it however I need to but I started with it having a Master-Detail relationship as I want to be able to report on information downstream off of both the Opportunity and this object and I need it to be a one to many relationship that we can manually create additional child records on.

This is my first attempt at creating a trigger so any help is much appreciated. I got a start by another posting on this board!

Error: Compile Error: unexpected token: 'List' at line 3 column 4
trigger createSplitCommissionOnOpportunityX on Opportunity (after insert) {

List Split_Commissions__c SCToInsert = new List Split_Commissions__c  (); 

for (Opportunity o : Trigger.new) {

if (o.StageName == 'Closed Won') {

Split_Commissions__c SC = new Split_Commissions__c (); 

sc.Opportunity_Name__c = o.Name; 

SCToInsert.add(sc);

}//end if

}//end for o

//once loop is done, you need to insert new records in SF
    // dml operations might cause an error, so you need to catch it with try/catch block.
    try {
        insert SCToInsert; 
    } catch (system.Dmlexception e) {
        system.debug (e);
    }