function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
sbansalsbansal 

copy field values of one object to another object

HI

Salesforce Community

I am new to Apex & trigger

I have created two custom objects Member & Member2, and same fields for both the object, now i want to insert the values of member fields into Member2 fields, such as Firstname and lastname,

Help me to get code for this

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Chamil MadusankaChamil Madusanka

Hi,

At what time do you want to insert values to Member2?

Assuming you want to insert valses to Member2 when inserting to Member;

You can write a trigger for Member to insert values to Member2.

trigger insertMember2 on Member__c (after insert) {
 Set<Id> Ids= new Set<Id>();
    for (Member__c member : Trigger.new)
    {
        Ids.add(member.Id);        
    }
 List<Member__c> memberList = new List<Member__c>([Select Id,FirstName__c,LastName__c  From Member__c e where Id in :Ids]);

for(Member__c temp : memberList )
	{
		Member2__c member2 = new Member2();
		member2.FirstName__c = temp.FirstName__c;
		member2.LastName__c = temp.LastName__c;
		insert member2;

}

}

Above is a example for get an idea.

If a reply to a post answers your question or resolves your problem, please mark it as the solution to the post so that others may benefit.

Chamil's Blog

All Answers

Hi,

At what time do you want to insert values to Member2?

Assuming you want to insert valses to Member2 when inserting to Member;

You can write a trigger for Member to insert values to Member2.

trigger insertMember2 on Member__c (after insert) {
 Set<Id> Ids= new Set<Id>();
    for (Member__c member : Trigger.new)
    {
        Ids.add(member.Id);        
    }
 List<Member__c> memberList = new List<Member__c>([Select Id,FirstName__c,LastName__c  From Member__c e where Id in :Ids]);