function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
askask 

Auto populate text fields based on selecting a record from lookup field

Hi

I am very new to salesforce and apex programming...so needed some help...

I have created a custom object  with some text fields as Name,Address...etc and a lookup field .Now when I select a record or a value  from the lookup field I need the text fields to be filled automatically  ,based on which value is selected from lookup field.

Any help or guidance on this will be great !!!

Thanks in advance

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

Best advice I can give is to try to use all aspects of the system mentioned in the study guide - don't just read about them but actually configure the system in a dev org.

All Answers

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

Do these have to be text fields - i.e. does the user need to be able to edit the values?  If not, you could use formula fields.  If you do need this you'll need to create a trigger that retrieves the lookup record values via a SOQL call and then writes that information into the custom object record.

This sounds like a before insert/update.  In the before update situation you'd only want to copy the information if the lookup value had changed.

askask

Thanks bob...

Actually I just need to retrieve the values of the record that is selected from lookup field.

Ex. I have a custom object A with lookup as one of its custom fields.Now in that lookup field (created a custom object) i have custom fields Name,Address and auto number as Serial no to lookup field records.

So when i choose a autonumber from the lookup field i want its Name,address values to be displayed..Hope i am clear with my problem...