function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
studzeystudzey 

Sorting a pageblocktable - Please help! :)

Hi Guys, 

I'm kind of new to Salesforce. I have managed to produce the following, which works well, apart from the fact that the sorting is not happening:

<Div id="Childs1">

<apex:pageBlock > 

<apex:pageBlockTable rendered="true" value="{!Trading_Contract__c.TC_SH__r}" var="child1" width="100%"> 

<apex:column value="{!child1.Shipment_Ref__c}"/>    <apex:column headerValue="Date">   

<apex:outputText value="{0,date,yyyy-MM}"> <apex:param value="{!child1.Date__c}" />

</apex:outputText>

</apex:column>

<apex:column value="{!child1.Bulk_Quantity__c}"/>   

<apex:column value="{!child1.Destination_Port_Place__c}"/> 

</apex:pageBlockTable>

</apex:pageBlock>

</Div>

Trading_Contract__c is must costom object, linked to TC_SH__r which is another custom "Shipments" object. 

What is the best way to sort the above pageblock table???

I would really appreciate the help!

Thanks

Stadler - Admin

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Starz26Starz26

You are correct, you would have to write a custom controller or controller extension depending on your needs.

All Answers

sdetweilsdetweil

YOU have to provide all the code to do the work.. no builtin feature for this..(bummer)..

here is the header for one of my columns

<apex:column > 
<apex:facet name="header">
<apex:commandLink action="{!ViewData}" value="Asset
 Name{!IF(sortExpression=='Asset',IF(sortDirection='ASC','▼','▲'),'')}" id="assetSort">
<apex:param value="Asset" name="column" assignTo="{!sortExpression}" ></apex:param>
</apex:commandLink>
</apex:facet>
<apex:outputtext value="{!contract.asset.name}"/>

this invokes a method in your controller, and passes in the column name.