function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
chubsubchubsub 

Opportunity Trigger Help needed

Hello, I have a requirment to update the opportunity name based on the number of opportunities that have been created that day for that client.  I'm fairly new to apex triggers and wanted to find out how to get started constructing this, any advice or direction would be awesome.  Here is some more details:

Opportunity is created on 11/11/2011 for Client A.  The users enters "Big Wammy" into the Opportunity Name field.  Before Insert, the trigger will update the opportunity Name to  "Big Wammy - 11/11/2011 - 001"  Then, another opportunity is created on the same day for the same Account and the user enters "Small Deal" into the opportunity name field, now the trigger will update the name to "Small Deal - 11/11/2011 - 002". 

Now, the next day, on 11/12/2011, the user creates another opportunity for Client A and enteres "Big Deal" in the Opportunity Name field.  Now, the trigger will update the Name to "Big Deal - 11/12/2011 - 001".  The number on the end will need to reset back to 001 every day.  

My trigger will be on the Opportunity and will need to query for all opportunities created that day for that account, and put them in order.  

Any suggestions on how to get started?  Thanks in advance!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
BritishBoyinDCBritishBoyinDC

Ah, I worked out what's happening...the code assumes there are no Opportunities for today already in the system...but if there are, it is trying to set the tracking number to a null value...thus the error.

So you either update the existing records for today to have a sequential number, or change line 9 to read: