function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
jalbanojalbano 

Problem deploying with apex class

I've been working in a development edition environment and have built something that uses an apex page and an apex class. I'm now trying to deploy this to our company's salesforce account so they can test it out. We have an enterprise account, I believe. When I use "Deploy To Server" from ForceIDE, I enter the username, password and security token of a sys admin on the company account. In the screen where it shows me what it will deploy, the apex class is not checked and when I click on it, it says "Component Type not permissible in destination organization".

This is my first attempt at salesforce development and am stuck. Any thoughts on what I'm missing?

Just to be clear, my code is at 92% test coverage -- so that is not the problem.

Thanks

John

colemabcolemab

What version are you deploying to?  (i.e. free, enterpise, etc etc) Does it allow this item?

Also, Make sure you have the "Author Apex" permission checked in your profile.

jalbanojalbano

I've been told it is an enterprise edition. I have the "Apex Author" box checked on my profile in the Developer edition. I went to do the same for the account that I'm trying to deploy to in the enterprise version but that doesn't have the "Profiles" section where you do that.

colemabcolemab

Here is the info about salesforce editions:

http://www.sfdcstatic.com/assets/pdf/datasheets/DS_SalesCloud_EdCompare.pdf

You don't have profiles or pagelayouts (unless you pay) in professional edition.  So I am not sure how you get "author apex" in professional but I think the lack of that permission is your problem.  I recommend doing some reasearch and see if this is on by default in pro or if it is simply enabled in a different location.

jalbanojalbano