function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
erik_eklunderik_eklund 

Need help with SOQL query through junction object

I'm fairly new to Apex (and I'm not a developer by trade) and I'm stumped on a SOQL query for a trigger that I'm writing.

Background info: I'm attempting to set up a process by which we can add Contacts to a custom object called Notification Groups. These Notification Groups can then be associated with Cases, and when a Comment is left on a Case and marked as Public, I want to email the Contacts within the associated Notification Groups. In order to make the necessary many-to-many relationships possible (Contacts can be a part of more than one group, groups can be associated with more than one case), I've created two junction objects: ContactGroupJoiner__c and GroupCaseJoiner__c. They both have Master-Detail relationships with the objects they're joining. Here is a quick graphic to show the relationship:

The trigger fires on CaseCommentI'm able to get the Notification Groups that are associated with the case from the following SOQL query:

List<GroupCaseJoiner__c> notificationGroups = [SELECT Notification_Group__r.Id FROM GroupCaseJoiner__c WHERE Case__c = :caseId];

I'm stuck on the next step, though, which would be to look at each item in the notificationGroups list, grab its related Contacts' email addresses, and add them to a list called toSendEmails (declared earlier in the Class). Here is what I tried:

//Create new list that will hold ContactGroupJoiner records associated with the records in notificationGroups.
      List<ContactGroupJoiner__c> contactsInGroups = new List <ContactGroupJoiner__c>();

//For each Group in the notificationGroups list, grab the associated Contact records and store them in contactsInGroups.
      for(Integer i=0; i<notificationGroups.size(); i++)
      {