function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JaredPHJaredPH 

Help? Trigger to insert user id when oppty changed from particular stage

We change the owner of our opportunities when the owner changes from one certain stage to another, but need to have the previous owner for a report. I want to put the name of the previous owner in a custom lookup field that I created when the stage changes from "App In" to something else. I'm really a beginner with triggers, can anyone help? I've tried doing it with workflows and it doesn't allow me to do it. I'm thinking I need an apex trigger.

Any ideas?

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
craigmhcraigmh

Yeah, it should be before update.

trigger OppUpdatePriorOwner on Opportunity(before update){
   for(Opportunity opp : trigger.new){
      if(Trigger.oldMap.get(opp.ID).StageName != 'App In' && opp.StageName == 'App In'){
         opp.CUSTOM_PREVIOUS_OWNER_FIELD = Trigger.oldMap.get(opp.ID).OwnerID;
      }
   }
}

All Answers

stollmeyerastollmeyera

Shoudl be something like this:

trigger OppUpdatePriorOwner on Opportunity(after update){

List<Opportunity> oppsToUpdate = new List<Opportunity>();
      if(Trigger.oldMap.get(opp.ID).StageName != 'App In' && opp.StageName == 'App In'){
         opp.CUSTOM_PREVIOUS_OWNER_FIELD == Trigger.oldMap.get(opp.ID).OwnerID;
         oppsToUpdate.add(opp);
      }
   }
   if(oppsToUpdate.size() > 0){
      update oppsToUpdate;
   }
}

Sort of in a hurry, so didn't have a chance to test or check for types. Let me know if it throws any errors.  

JaredPHJaredPH

It doesn't seem to like the line:

opp.App_Rep__c == Trigger.oldMap.get(opp.ID).OwnerID;

Compile error: Expression cannot be a statement at line 6 column 10

craigmhcraigmh

Yeah, that line should be an assignment, not a comparison. Use only one equal sign.

JaredPHJaredPH