function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
koti91koti91 

Trigger Help

hello

I am new to SFDC Development and i need some help with the trigger.

I created two objects A and B. there is no relation between these objects and i had event id and event id fields on both objects. 

On Object A i also had a status pick list field which has pass and Fail values.

on object A records are loaded by some ETL Process and after loading that records i am firing a trigger on A  which will process the reocrds for  the status value pass and then

1. checks to see if event exists by checking event ID  on A against event ID on object B.

how to compare this ......plz help

Starz26Starz26

Are you saying that you want to search ALL records for object B to see if the event ID from a appears anywhere in Object B? Is there any criteria for object B? If not, you will need to set the event id on object b to an external id to allow for indexing.

Also, this would be best handled in a batch or future process as the  process could take to long in a trigger. For now, here is a start.

trigger CheckEventID on ObjectA__c(before insert, before update){

Set<String> bIDs = New Set<String>();

for(ObjectB__c b : [Select EventID__c From ObjectB__c Where EventID__c != Null])

bIDs.add(b.EventID__c);

for(ObjectA__c a : trigger.new){

if(bIDs.contains(a.EventID__c){

//do stuff

}

}

}

koti91koti91

there is no specific condition on B. it needs to check if any event ID on A exists on B. I hope this condition works. but here there is one more thing where i need to compare the reocrds of A for which only the status on A is equal to pass value. For this  i am writinng the trigger as:

trigger checkeventID on A(After Insert, after update)

{

//first i am storing all the reocrds of A which needs to be compared against B in a list