function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
thylakthylak 

how to update the contact fields once opportunity added using trigger

how can update the contact fields once opportuity added using trigger.

1. i created two fields in Opportunity object i.e Contract Length and Service Date

2. i  created two fields in Contact obejct. i.e Contract Length and Service Date.

Now  i fills the value in contaract length and Service Date field in Opportunity object. then automatically  update the Contract Length and Service Date fields in contact object . how can do this task . i am new in apex codeing .pls help me..................

Dirk GronertDirk Gronert

Hi, I've tried to wrote the concept down .... I didn' check the syntaxt so it could be the case that some misspells are in the code ... but you will see how it works!

trigger SetContractdetailsOnContact on Opportunity (after insert, after update) { 
     // extract the contact id's fom the opportunities and store them in a list 
     List contactIDs = new List(); 
     for (Opportunity opp : trigger.new){ 
          if(opp.YOURCONTACTFIELD__c != null){ 
               contactIDs.add(opp.YOURCONTACTFIELD__c); 
           } 
     } // now query the contacts and put them in a Map 

Map contactMap = new Map(); 
     for(Contact contact : [SELECT ID, ContractLength__c, ContractServiceDate__c from Contact Where id in :contactIDs]){ 
           contactMap.put(contact.id, contact); 
     } 
     // iterate over the opportunities and update the contact records 
     for(Opportunity opp : trigger.new){ 
         // only proceed if the CONTACTFIELD is not null - else skip the opportunity 
         if(opp.YOURCONTACTFIELD__c != null){ 
              // get the contact from the map 
              Contact c = contactMap.get(opp.YOURCONTACTFIELD__c);