function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Piotr@ProntoPiotr@Pronto 

Cross object field update - Account-Contact

Hello everyone,

Im a total newbie to the Apex World but really keen on learning!

We're trying to build a code that would let us connect two fields under standard objects namely Account and Contact.

e.g. if "A" field (checkbox) under "Account" object is TRUE - "A" field (checkbox) under "Contact" object is also TRUE.

We're also trying to get the same work with the "date" field e.g. if I insert a date 5/5/2012 in "Test Date" field under "Account" object, the exact same date will appear under "Test Date" field under "Contact" object.

Why we want to do that? We'd like this to trigger certain workflows built on "Contact" object but want to do updated under "Account" object only.

Would someone be able to help me out?

Thanks you all

Piotr

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

Its a sunny Monday morning, so why not.  Revised code below:

trigger Crossobjectfieldupdate on Account (after update) 
{
  if (Trigger.isUpdate)
  {
      Map<Id, Account> updAccs=new Map<Id, Account>();
      for (Account acc : trigger.new)
      {
         Account oldAcc=trigger.oldMap.get(acc.id);
         if (acc.Test_Date__c != oldAcc.Test_Date__c)
         {
            updAccs.put(acc.id, acc);
         }
       }

List<Contact> updCon=[select id, accountId, Test_Date__c from contact where accountId in :updAccs.keySet()];
       for (Contact con: updCon)
       {
           Account acc=updAccs.get(con.accountId);
           con.Test_Date__c=acc.Test_Date__c;
       } 
   }

update updCon;
}