function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
vjenvjen 

Values in multi-select Picklist from a query

Hi,

I am new to salesforce.com.

When I create a customer Account field with multi-select Picklist data type, can I have the values from a query of my account data? In this case, I want to show in the list of all accounts that match a specific Account Type.

Do I have to wrote some code to do this? I'd appreciate if someone can point me to some 101 course to learn how to do it.

-- vj

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
SidzSidz

Vj,

The values in a picklist or the definition of a picklist is part of salesforce.com metadata(metadata has the information about the object structure, fields , definitions , etc) and this is usually  modified using configuration.

The picklist values cannot be dynamically changed with respect to the data .

It is not a good design to change metadata frequently, 

To go with a simple design , without having to build a custom solution , create 3 lookup( a lookup field allows you to link your current record to any salesforce.com object) fields to account

and you can define lookup filters(add the conditions like account type='Supplier - partner') on the field.

you can probably put a validation rule to ensure that all 3 lookup fields don't hold the information of same account.

The other approach would be to design a custom solution where you need to build a visual force page where you query the top three suppliers and allow the user to select them and store the information of these accounts in a custom object or 

store the information on some text area field on account.

To over complicate the requirement , you can always override the "edit " and "new" pages and create visual force pages for them, with the required custom functionalities.

hope this helps.