function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
calvin_nrcalvin_nr 

Trigger works as expected but doesnot work with test code

Hi All,

I have written a validation trigger to make sure that only one record of a custom object has a particular flag turned on for each account.

When I test this trigger directly by trying to create a record that satisfies the trigger condition, I get the error message as expected.

So I went ahead and wrote a test class. I am new to apex and this was my first attempt at writing a test method. I read the docmentation and some examples. When I run my test, its 75% complete which is good to move to production but 2 of the most crucial lines are not being tested. I want to understand why this is happening and how  can address it.

When I look at the log, the SOQL query whic is a the heart of my trigger's error mechanism does not return any rows. I confirmed that this query with the values given in the test class does return a row and therefore the error must be raised. but for some reason this is not happening.

Please help meunderstand what is wrong here. Thanks.

Trigger code:

trigger osv_check_default_flag on Collection_Rule__c (before insert, before update) 
{
	//Declarations		
	ID accountID;
	//List of Collection rule objects from the same account
	List <Collection_Rule__c> rules;

for (Collection_Rule__c newRule : Trigger.new) 
	{
		//Get Account of record being inserted
		accountID = newRule.Account__c;
		//Get collection rules from the same Account where the "default" flag is checked.
		rules=[select id from Collection_Rule__c where Default__c=true and Account__c=:accountID];

//If records with the default exist and the current record has its default flag checked, Do not save and raise ERROR!
		if(rules.size()>0 && newRule.Default__c == true)
		{