function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Abhishek RayAbhishek Ray 

Creating trigger to populate Owner Name in Task object to a new field "Current Owner"

Hi All,

I am creating a trigger to pull the owner name instead of id to a new field called "Current Owner" in the activity object in Task. I created a trigger but it is showing me id again. Please help me. Is there any way other to achieve it. What I am doing wrong. Please help with code and test class as I am new to trigger. Any help will be appreciated.

The problem here is I can't write in code: o.Current_Owner__c = o.Owner which is owner name but is is not allowing me save and giving some error.

Trigger:

trigger CurrentOwner on Task (before insert, before update) {

for(Task o:Trigger.new)

{o.Current_Owner__c = o.OwnerId;

}

}

Test Class:

public class CurrentOwner {

Public static void addCurrentOwner(Task[] acts) {

for(Task a:acts)

{String Name = [Select id from User where ID = :a.ownerID].Name;a.Current_Owner__c = Name;

}}}

Damien_Damien_

You should be using o.Owner.Name instead of o.OwnerId.

You should use a formula field to do this instead of a trigger though.

Abhishek RayAbhishek Ray

The formula will not work. I can only populate owner id not the name. Can you tell how it can be done using formula?

Damien_Damien_

If you can't get the Owner.Name, just requery for the record then.  You can get it that way.

Add a formula field that is simply

Owner.Name

Abhishek RayAbhishek Ray

I tried. Not working. Saying Field doesn't exist.

Damien_Damien_

My bad, it doesn't let you use Owner in the formula field.  You don't actually want Owner.Name, you want Owner.Username in your trigger.