function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AngelikaAngelika 

test class for scheduled apex? Why? How?

I am new to apex and am trying to build an apex schedule class that runs everyday. If the account review date for commisions is two weeks (14 days) away the scheduler will send an email to our Sales Department.

I think I have all the information I need. I have a made a class that implements the schedulable interface.

I have a system schedule method but I don't know where to put it....in the scheduable class or in a new class?

Here is my code...the major issue I am having right now is writting a test class. Why does Salesforce say you need one? What is the benefit of having one? Can someone jump start me with the code of Apex scheduler test class or at least tell me what I need to put in there(format)? I've read the documentation but I still don't get it.

global class AccountReviewScheduler implements Schedulable

{

global void execute (SchedulableContext ctx)

{

sendEmail();

}

public void sendEmail()

{

if (Account.Next_Account_Review_Date_c == System.today().addDays(14))

{

Messaging.SingleEmailMessage mail = new Messaging.SingleEmailMessage();

Mail.setTemplateId('00XF0000000LfE1');

Messaging.sendEmail(new Messaging.SingleEmailMessage[] {mail });

}

}

newScheduledClass m = new newScheduledClass();  

//schedule set for 2am everyday //

String s = '0 0 2 * * ?';

//  I got this code from someone else. //  

system.schedule('Daily Commision Check', s, m); 

}

sfdcfoxsfdcfox

Why test classes?