function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AngelikaAngelika 

How to Prevent Apex Code Breaking in Production

I am new to Apex Coding. Besides an unmanaged Clone List App and many Managed Apps , my Salesforce Org does not have any custom Apex Code in it.

I tried to Deploy an Apex Class to production and got the error on a test class, Failure Message: "System.DmlException: Insert failed. First exception on row 0; first error: FIELD_CUSTOM_VALIDATION_EXCEPTION, </BR></BR></BR><font color="blue">Redirecting in just a second.</font></BR><SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">window.location = "../apex/SFSSDupeCatcher__SFSSDupeCatcher?dId0=MDAxRjAwMDAwMG5TWHg4SUFH&scId=YT...

I know how to fix this error (change validation rules on my Dupe Catcher App Temporarily.

This "quick fix" works for deploying my code, but what about when my Apex Code stays in production.

If new validation rules, either from DupeCatcher or for Contacts, Accounts etc are put into place after my code in deployed in production , this will break my test data. What are the implications of test data/classes/methods breaking in production? I know I won't be able to deploy new code, but is there anything else that happens, particulary to the code that the test method/class/data was written for? Will test methods that are broken break the classes they cover?

If you were just begining Apex Development in your organization, what would you do differently? How can Apex Code break in production? How can I prevent this?

Thanks,

Angelika

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
kibitzerkibitzer

In most cases, new validation rules will only break the test code. That's because what they usually break is your creation of objects to use in testing - which is part of the test code, not the actual production classes.