function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Scott0987Scott0987 

sObject lookup based on a field from a second sObject.

I am very new to Apex so please forgive me if this is a stupid question. 

I have 2 custom salesforce objects.  s1 and s2.  s2 has a field that is unique to both it and s1.  It is called identifier.  I am creating a trigger that will update the fields on s2 when s1 is updated.  What I cannot figure out how to do is inside the trigger apex to find the id of s2 based on the identifier field of s1. 

Thanks

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
kibitzerkibitzer

First - no offense, but please ignore the previous response - it has SOQL inside a loop which is always a bad idea.

Now, based on what you describe, you're looking for something like this (the following is psudocode - a rough outline of code that should work, but has not been tested)

trigger sometrigger on S1 (after insert)

{

// Get a list of the identifiers

List<String> identifiers = new List<String>();  // I'm assuming identier is a string

for(S1 obj: trigger.new) identifiers.add(s1.identifier);

// Now query for S2 - Be aware of limit issues if you have over 100K S2 objects

List<S2> alls2s = [Select ID, identifier, your list of fields, from S2 where identifier in :identifiers];

// Now create a map from identifier to S2

Map<String, S2> s2map = new Map<String, S2>();

for(S2 obj: alls2s)  s2map.put(s2.identifier, s2);

// Now do your updates

for(S1 s1obj: trigger.new)

{

S2 s2toupdate = s2map.get(s1obj.identifier);

// Modify the S2 object fields here

}

update alls2s;

}

In practice, you should actually place the functional code inside of a class - but that's another story.

This is a common bulk compatible design pattern for handling updates of related records. It will work well with ID based lookups as well.