function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DeepthisfdcDeepthisfdc 

Problem with the Task Trigger

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the Salesforce development.Below is the trigger :

trigger trgUpdateComments on Task (before update)
{          
    DateTime d = system.now();
    for(task ta : trigger.new)
    {
        string dec = String.valueof(d) + '\n' + ta.Description ;
                ta.Description = dec;

}    
}

What it does is that: whenever we enter any comment in the comments field on the tasks and save it.It will display the system date and time followed by the comment entered as below:

2012-09-27 10:25:41

Testing1

The problem is whenever I enter the second comment the format is as below:

2012-09-27 10:27:23

Testing1

Testing2

But it should be as:

2012-09-27 10:27:23

Testing2

Testing1

Can someone help me with this please.Thank you!!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Alex.AcostaAlex.Acosta

To me this seems as though the new description is being place below the old description. If the user had put their new description at the top, your trigger should work as you currently have it.

IE:

Original:

Testing1

User updates and puts:

Testing1

Testing2

Rather than :

Testing2

Testing1

The last example is how you want users to post their task description.... they are doing example #2 currently

All Answers

Alex.AcostaAlex.Acosta

To me this seems as though the new description is being place below the old description. If the user had put their new description at the top, your trigger should work as you currently have it.

IE:

Original:

Testing1

User updates and puts:

Testing1

Testing2

Rather than :

Testing2

Testing1

The last example is how you want users to post their task description.... they are doing example #2 currently

This was selected as the best answer