function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KirbySFKirbySF 

Trigger to update a custom lookup field from a custom picklist

I'm new to developing in general and am trying to create a trigger that updates the custom lookup field Market_lookup__c with the value selected in the field Market_picklist__c. Both fields reside in the standard Opportunity object, and the Market_lookup__c field points to the standard Account object. What I came up with is:

trigger OpptyMktTrigger on Opportunity (before insert, before update) {
    for (Opportunity a: Trigger.new)
            a.Market_lookup__c = a.Market_picklist__c;
}

But running this trigger returns the error: OpptyMktTrigger: execution of BeforeUpdate caused by: System.StringException: Invalid id: Market 1: Trigger.OpptyMktTrigger: line 3, column 1

I'm sure it's a simple fix. Can anyone help?

Abhijeet Purohit01Abhijeet Purohit01

HI. Try this code. Copy Paste it and try inserting a new record or change the picklist value of an existing record.

trigger OpptyMktTrigger on Opportunity (before insert, before update) {
    List <Opportunity> opListInsert = new List<Opportunity>();
    List <Opportunity> opListUpdate = new List<Opportunity>();
    if(trigger.isInsert){
        for(Opportunity op:trigger.New){
            if(op.Market_Picklist__c != Null){
                op.Market_LookUp__c = op.Market_Picklist__c;
                opListInsert.add(op);
            }
        }
    }
    else if(trigger.isUpdate){
        for(Opportunity op:trigger.New){
            if(op.Market_Picklist__c != Null && op.Market_Picklist__c !=trigger.oldMap.get(op.id).Market_Picklist__c){
                op.Market_LookUp__c = op.Market_Picklist__c;
                opListUpdate.add(op);
            }    
        }
    }
}

KirbySFKirbySF

It gives the same error as before: Invalid ID