function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
dmasondmason 

apex trigger stage opportunity

Hey Guys

I am new to Apex coding so please be gentle

I need some help

Basically i have a huge backlog in my pipeline report, i thought of a way that i can overcome this but i am not sure its its viable

What i want to achieve is that is if the opportunity stage are any of the following

Qualified
Proposal
Application Docs Out
Application docs in (Complete)
Sent to Risk
Approved by Risk

and there has been no activity ( last modified date in the last 6months from todays date) then change the stage to "Opportunity lost"

Is this easily achievable ?

If any one can supply some basic coding for one /two of the stages above it would be truly appreciated

Many thanks

Vinit_KumarVinit_Kumar

Hi ,

This is achievable by making an Apex Trigger and then make fake update operation in bulk on Opportunity.What I mean to say is below :-

1.) Create a dummy field checkbox may be and update it to true using Data Loader or Apex Batch class that will invoke the Apex Trigger to Fire.Data Loader would be easy for updating.You don't need to show this dummy foeld on the layout,this is only to invoke Trigger action.

2.) Then,In your Trigger for update Action check if LastModifiedDate is greater than 6 months ago using addMonths method,if it is more than 6 Months ,then update the Opportunity StageName field to 'Closed Lost'.

I tried to make things simple for you here.

Jake GmerekJake Gmerek

That will work, but if you are more comfortable outside of Apex, you could use the data loader to download all of your opportunities, open the .csv in excel, use excel filtering to find and edit the records that you need and then update using the data loader again.

kriskkrisk

Whatever these guys suggested is a manual one time fix for your scenario.