function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
abinayaabinaya 

Pass Javascript value to apex class

I have a javascript variable which gets the current app name.

var myappname = document.getElementById("tsidLabel").innerText;

I want this 'myappname' in my apex class. I am not going to make any action on my visualforce page. On my page load i am doing some functionalities.

Please help me out. I am new to salesforce.

harsha__charsha__c

Call an action function from the javascript and pass the param through it.

An example is shown below.

<apex:actionFunction action="{!methodOne}" name="methodOneInJavascript" rerender="showstate">
        <apex:param name="firstParam" assignTo="{!state}" value="" />
    </apex:actionFunction>

call the above action function as followed.

<apex:outputPanel onclick="methodOneInJavascript(document.getElementById("tsidLabel").innerText)" styleClass="btn"> 
        Click Me 
    </apex:outputPanel>

Tha value you passed will directly gets assigned to the "state" variable which is controller variable.

abinayaabinaya

Thanks for the reply but I dont want a link option in my page. I am not going to display anything in my page. I am just going to check for the app name. Is there anything like hidden field where i can store my javascript value in hidden field and use that field in my apex class?

I need the current app name in my apex class. To achieve this am going in this way.

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

You can store it in a hidden field, but that would require you to submit a form which equates to an action.    If you are going to do the server round trip, you could use an actionfunction and pass the field as a parameter.

Of course there is also the option of javascript remoting - this will still require a round trip to the server, but doesn't involve a form so tends to be faster.