function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
bomboobomboo 

class/trigger

Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to apex, I didn't do any Java development before, and I have almost zero experience with object-oriented programming. So, during an excercise within salesforce I encountered a problem: I want to use a function of a class that I have written here: 

public class InvitationSender 
{
    public void sendInvitation(Invitations__c invitation) 
    {   
        [lots of code]
    }
}

Now, what I want to do is to use that sendInvitation function when a record within my invitations__c object is inserted. So I use this code: 

trigger SendEmailInvitation on Invitations__c (after insert) {

InvitationSender.sendInvitation[] invitation = new InvitationSender.sendInvitation();

InvitationSender.sendInvitation(invitation);

}

...And the Force.com IDE just says "Save error: invalid type: InvitationSender.sendInvitation.

Can anyone help me out on this? I know this might be a stupid question, but I am really inexperienced, so please be kind ;-). 

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard
You'd need to rewrite the method to process a number of invites at once. Otherwise, if you have a number of records passed into a trigger, e.g. a update from the data loader, then your SOQL queries embedded into the method will be executed for each record and you would breach the limit of 100 queries per transaction.

All Answers

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

You are trying to instantiate the method rather than the class.  You should just instantiate the class and call the method. Also, your method looks like it only takes a single instance of invitation __c  - you should probably make this accept an array, otherwise you will have to iterate the trigger records.  The code below assumes it can take a list of records: