function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Ali MeyerAli Meyer 

Need help with test code for Apex trigger

Hello,

I'm really new to Apex and to code in general, so please try to not laugh at my pathetic test code. The code itself works (I tested manually) and it's a really basic trigger; the test code fails, though, and I can't figure out why. Can anyone help me figure out what's going on? Thank you!!

Trigger:

trigger SpouseTrigger on Contact (before insert) {
    List<Contact> cons = new List<Contact>();
    List<Contact> consToInsert = new List<Contact>();

for(Contact c:trigger.new){
        if(c.Sig_Other_First_Name__c != null && c.Sig_Other_Last_Name__c != null){
            cons.add(c);
        }
    }

for(Contact c: cons){
        Contact newCon = new Contact();
        newCon.FirstName = c.Sig_Other_First_Name__c;
        newCon.LastName = c.Sig_Other_Last_Name__c;
        newCon.AccountId = c.AccountId;
        consToInsert.add(newCon);
    }

insert consToInsert;
}

Here's the test code, where something isn't working:

@istest
private class SpouseTriggerTest {

static TestMethod void Test1_TestInsertContact() {
        Account acc = new Account(Name = 'My Account', RecordTypeid = '012A0000000dlDz');
        insert acc;

Contact testC1 = new Contact(LastName='Test1 Contact', Sig_Other_First_Name__c='John', Sig_Other_Last_Name__c='Smith', AccountId = acc.Id);
        insert testC1;

//pull the account info for that contact
        Contact SecContact1 = [SELECT FirstName, LastName, AccountId FROM Contact WHERE Id = :testC1.id];

//verify that the insert updated by creating another contact as in the trigger
        System.assert(SecContact1.Id != null);
        System.assertEquals(SecContact1.FirstName, testC1.Sig_Other_First_Name__c);
        System.assertEquals(SecContact1.LastName, testC1.Sig_Other_Last_Name__c);